PDA

View Full Version : Any Good Herb Books?

Chosen-frozen
06-15-2007, 01:13 AM
Can anyone reccomend any good books on Chinese medicine , especially herbal medicine, in English? I`m a complete newbie.
I`ve read Tom Bisio`s "A Tooth From The Tiger`s Mouth" and "The Warrior As Healer", but I don`t know whwere to look after that.
Thanks

Dale Dugas
06-15-2007, 01:11 PM
If you are serious you need to get a copy of Dan Bensky's Chinese Materia Medica, that is the textbook for most Oriental Medical schools department of herbs here in the states.

Piercinghammer
06-15-2007, 06:06 PM
I am fond of Michael Tierra's books. Very readable for the beginner and useful. I also like The Illustrated Chinese Materia Medica-Crude and Prepared
by Kun-Ying Yen. Alot of really nice photo's and descriptions that would be helpful to the novice.

Mike Biggie

PlumDragon
06-15-2007, 08:59 PM
Gambles Materia Medica seems to be the standard but I prefer Chen & Chens "Chinese Medical Herbology and Pharmacology". It comes down to personal preference but I find Chens work to be a bit more scientific and reference-oriented while Benskys might have a bit more traditional rationale for actions/properties. Chens will run you a bit more but they are both worth every penny.

Captchuks "The Web That Has No Weaver". A bit dense, poetic and abstract your first time reading it, but will arm you with discussion on some basic ideas that you need. Like Dale said, having a Materia Medica is tantamount if you are serious, but you need to learn about what each of the herbal categories are and why theyre organized the way they are. The Web (as well as the books below) can help you with that. As soon as you have built that structure in your head, learning about new herbs is a piece of cake...You know the coordinate system, just plot the points.