PDA

View Full Version : Are there any frauds teaching in the West?

diego
07-01-2007, 08:47 PM
Recently I've been interested in researching the Internal arts of the Ching empire for two reasons...They are cool:) and I heard the Royal gaurds trained in Pa Kua, Tai Chi, Hsing Yi and Lama Pai. I've been training the basics of Hop Gar for ten years or so and eventually will find a teacher in the Internal arts.
I remember looking at paulie zink to his monkey yoga thinking that looks cool when I was a teen, then I read he is fake...So, are there any frauds teaching in the west...uno claims of white guys doing the oiuja board summoning sun lu tang to teach, etc

I think I read something about a Dr. Painter has a big story behind his lineage orsomething like that...Read about it years ago, so my recall is fuzzed.

I just bought Park Bok Nam's two Pakua books, I've read Robert Smith's books...I also have an interesting book by John Bracy and his sifu Lu Shui Tien in which they introduce the esoteric side within the system...I don't want to start reading stuff by guys that play make beleive, so I'm hoping this thread will warn me if need be:D
peace

diego
07-06-2007, 02:46 PM
COOL!!!...everything is subtle in Tai Chi land...I'll be sure to run over to my nearest rec center and work on my jade pillow...

scholar
07-10-2007, 07:34 AM
You are asking people to slam other teachers. Usually, westerners line up to do that, and I'm a little surprised no one has offered to here.

If someone did, though, how do you know you could trust what some anonymous crank says on the internet is right or not?

Since you seem to have some criteria already, it's best if you find out about potential teachers for yourself.

SPJ
07-13-2007, 03:19 AM
my favorite books for the said styles.

1. Ma Hong on Chen Tai Chi. Wang Pei Sheng on Wu Tai Chi (Chinese)

2. Jiang Rong Qiao on Xing Yi Ba Gua (Chinese) I think there is an english translation.

3. Xing Yi Quan Xue by Su Lu tang and some army manuals.