PDA

View Full Version : How do I balance JKD with useless garbage?

Daedalus
02-12-2001, 12:21 AM
I have been training in the martial arts for over 16 years. The majority of that time was spent in Isshin-ryu karate. I have also trained in Chinese Kempo. Just recently (1998),however, I began to study JKD (concepts & Jun Fan). Needless to say that it totally changed my outlook on martial arts. I personally would never go back into the bondage of the traditional systems, but I have students who do not like the changes that have taken place in me and want to remain with the traditional style.
I find it difficult to teach concepts and tactics that I don't believe in and know are useless, however this is what many of my students wish to learn.
Any advice or insights would be greatly appreciated.

DragonzRage
02-12-2001, 01:17 AM