PDA

View Full Version : Who has the power?

Daedalus
02-27-2001, 11:36 PM
I have been studying JKD for about 3 years now, and am still confused as to who is authorized to teach JKD and who is not. I understand that the Lee family has authorized some people to teach official Jun Fan/JKD while others (supposedly unauthorized) teach JKD (concepts?) without having ever trained with Lee or any of his students.

I think that Bruce Lee's original intent was not to create a style, but rather to present a universal concept that could be used to improve one's martial arts training regardless of style. So why is there so much controversy over who is authorized to teach and who is not? :confused:

Paul Sharp
02-28-2001, 03:47 AM
Ego

-Paul Sharp

Certificates don't count, Performance does...

RAYNYSC
02-28-2001, 03:19 PM
I think it's a little more then just ego, but for the most part I agree that ego does play a big part in this.

RAYNYSC

Demi @ CSPT
02-28-2001, 04:31 PM
It's a money game and an ego game. Here's the way I see it...