PDA

View Full Version : Is there a difference between a good teacher & a good "fighter"?

WoodenYummy
07-17-2007, 12:37 PM
I'm new to this post, but have been doing WC for several years now and I have a question to pose to you all. Many of the posts seem to judge a Teachers merit by his ability to "kick some a**", particularly in the MMA context... Does anyone believe there could be such a thing as a good teacher, who may not be the best fighter? I ask becasue my 1st Sifu was just the opposite, one incredible martial artist, to cross hands with him was an amazing experience, but his teaching method was not the best by any stretch, just curious what all you WC folks think on this matter. Thanks in advance for your input.

jesper
07-17-2007, 02:37 PM
In order to teach you need to have at least a basic fighting skill. But I dont think the best fighters usually becomes the best teachers as it requires a totally different mindset.
Most top fighters I have experienced simply didnt have the patience or will to spend countless hours repeating the same basic stuff to inexperienced trainees. They would rather spend those hours becoming better fighters.
Vice versa most really good teachers I have seen didnt have that drive to become really good fighters.

Another thing is that in order to become a really good teacher you really need to know all the how and why of the technics your demonstrating. A good fighter "just" needs to be able to apply them in the right contex.

But ofcourse there are probably many excamples of great fighters becoming good teachers throughout history:D

VingDragon
07-17-2007, 03:27 PM
that's true, above.

young fighters becomes a great teachers usualy in older age and/or 'vice versa'

:)

I give you example taken from my ex-country: