PDA

View Full Version : Year Training/Studying in China - Questions

AWK
07-18-2007, 12:29 PM
Hi all,

This is my first time on this forum. I saw this site, and figured that it might be a helpful place for a few questions.

I am planning a trip to China a year or so away. I would like to study perhaps all Shaolin kung fu, perhaps some combination of Shaolin kung fu study and Chinese language (spoken and preferably written as well). However, the research I have done has been troubling. The cost for a year-long program, as described by Matt Polly for instance, seems to be around $10,000 at least, which for me is a ton, and very difficult to obtain/save up. Are there other programs not so costly which are good?

Also, I read online about a program: http://www.shaolins.com/ - Is this at all legitimate? The cost is only around $5,000 which is much more in my league, but I see that it is mostly for foreigners, not Chinese, and I don't want to feel scammed. But I won't deny that the program of the 3+ hours daily of Kung Fu study, taught (allegedly) by Shaolin/former Shaolin monks is tempting, especially when partnered with the Mandarin Language Certification and study they offer.

Does anyone here have personal experience with this program? Do they know anyone who went or have heard about anyone who went? What's the reputation? (I know it's not as hardcore as the school Polly attended, but I don't need superhardcore, just don't want to be scammed or have my time wasted - keep in mind, though, I am a beginner, just starting training now, so will have only a year experience when I leave for China).

Thank you for your help and your time. It is greatly appreciated.

-AWK

sanjuro_ronin
07-18-2007, 12:42 PM
I have one question:
Why ?

AWK
07-18-2007, 01:17 PM
Why do I want to go study kung fu?

A few reasons, some of which are hard to describe.