PDA

View Full Version : 'Push' as technique

bustr
07-21-2001, 06:38 PM
In the dynamic application of this technique do you round your back and tuck you buttocks or do you square up in a front stance the way it is taught in the form? I've always rounded my back. I recently started training in Yang TaiChiChuan and was taught to practice this technique in a front stance.

Thanks

Bustr

Sam Wiley
07-21-2001, 11:12 PM
Bustr,
I'm not sure if I understand the phrase "square up in a front stance," but yes, you should be rounding your back a bit for power when doing the form. This is the same way it would be done for real. However, pushing someone in a fight is not recommended as it does not do a whole lot except make them mad. Your hands should strike more than push. As far as stance when actually using it, I would recommend the front sitting bow and arrow stance for power, so that even if you cannot yet fa-jing, you can still at least get good physiacl power.

"I put forth my power and he was broken.
I withdrew my power and he was ground into fine dust."
-Aleister Crowley, The Vision and the Voice

TheBigToad
07-22-2001, 02:31 AM
Butr,

Yes, rounding the back is ok but the majority of the action will come from the usage of the legs and directing it through the hands.

Yes, the push a valid technique just greatly depends on how you use it which is why it is best to get information from people who have experience in such things.

The push is just that, a push. In working in private security I've used this same method to put people into walls and follow up with something else or to send people down flights of stairs, send people into other incoming attackers and over a ledge.

A friend of mine who just came back from Russia and was working a high level executive security team and a wu style taiji player for 20 years has video of him using a roll back and press to send an individual into the path of an on coming car..
-Kevin

I am the big toad and this is my pond.

Brad