PDA

View Full Version : Savate as part of a JKD Matrix

Daedalus
06-07-2001, 05:57 PM
Since I first began studying JKD, I often heard many people make reference to some of the techniques that Bruce Lee adapted from savate. Techniques like the oblique kick.

I have never had any direct contact with anyone who trained in savate, so I don't know if there are other techniques that may be valuable to me.

Have any of you guys ever trained in savate?

rogue
06-07-2001, 06:55 PM
It's like TKD but with snails.

Adventure is just a romantic name for trouble. It sounds swell when you write about it, but it's hell when you meet it face to face in a dark and lonely place.
Louis L'Amour

DragonzRage
06-07-2001, 09:16 PM
I did one savate class with Prof. Salem Assli just to get a taste of it and how it differs from Muay thai a little while back. Obviously, I'm no expert at it, but from what I gathered its strong suit seems to be very quick and agile footwork. It goes hand in hand with Jun Fan Gung fu legwork. One interesting aspect of it is that many techniques are meant to be used most effectively with shoes on.

nightair
06-08-2001, 02:00 AM
i've seen someone doing that before. i've also seen a tournament on tape.It looks like kickboxing to me. :)

Grappling-Insanity
06-10-2001, 01:15 AM
look below

Grappling-Insanity
06-10-2001, 01:18 AM
I dont have any direct relation with either arts however. I have been kicked by ppl with from both arts and the Savate ppl had way more power. They train with shoes on and have a adapted to kicking with there boot/shoe toe.

Savate is way more than u think. There is another art called Boxe Francis which has a relationship similiar to savate like that of many Philipino arts.

Boxe Francis is like French street fighting full out with joint locks and eye gouging. Savate is more the sport/kickboxing element to Boxe Francis.