PDA

View Full Version : Chicago Kung Fu?

AintGotNoRiddim
10-24-2001, 07:10 PM
Hi yinz,

I'm a bit of a newbie here, so please go easy on me. :D

Anyway, I was hoping that maybe one of you enlightened fellas could help a poor bewildered kung fu beginer out here and lemme know of any good kung fu schools here in Chicago. I'm not sure what style I'd prefer-- anything with a qualified instructor, really-- but the school has to be easily accessible by CTA or by Metra as I'm a poor college kid who sells his blood to buy books. I've heard Wah Lun Choi out in Irving Park is fantastic, but isn't he kinda pricey? Also, I'm only guaranteed a place in the city until '03 (when I graduate) so I'm a little hesitant about learning something that will be hard to find else where.

Can anyone give me some suggestions?

nightair
10-24-2001, 07:27 PM
Sorry, I live over in California. I do know that you guys have the best pizza inn Chicago though. :)

DOH!!

fa_jing
10-24-2001, 07:46 PM
Kung Fu Academy of Chicago, it's right by Loyola, Red line. Sheridan + Pratt streets. Master Kwan was in some kung fu movies in China. The main style is 7-Star praying mantis -the training is very serious and traditional, no slouching or you might be doing pushups. I train semi-private ot the school in Wing Chun, with Sifu Johnson. If this location does not suit you, I understand there is a top-notch Southern-style school closer to downtown. You need to be careful picking a school. One school, Golden Eagle Martial Arts, tricked me into signing up for a contract, which they didn't even give me a copy of. Their school is terrible, white belts were leading the class, which is illegal. It's a long story, but I never took a single class there, yet they were charging me. Some schools are just out to make money, be extremely careful. If you want more advice, just tell me which area you are looking at. -FJ

fa_jing
10-24-2001, 07:59 PM