PDA

View Full Version : Five Elements

Lucas
08-23-2007, 02:57 PM
Hello, I am new to internal training and am doing research to further my studies.

My sifu often talks of 'Yi' or intetions/mindfulness.

He has said this is one of the five elements i believe.

now when i do look up 5 elements on the internet, there are so many sources and variations to look at.

i find this diagram:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/0/07/FiveElementsCycleBalanceImbalance.jpg

Some background:

I am learning Chen Taiji. My sifu also teachis I-Chuan. I have been told his I-Chuan is incorporated into the rest of his martial teachings.

is this diagram or others like it, kind of what I am looking for in regards to these 5 elements and martial arts?

if so, what section of this chart corresponds to 'Yi'

Sorry for so many questions.

I am not sure if i am on the right track here, or if that chart is even what i am looking for.

any help would be much appreciated, if at least a finger in the right direction.

my sifu:

http://i-chuan.net/

chud
08-23-2007, 03:15 PM
The five elements are shown in that diagram and relate to each of the five fists (Splitting, Crushing, Drilling, Pounding, Crossing) of Xingyi (and Yichuan, I guess...not too familiar with Yichuan though). In addition to 'five elements', you might also want to google for 'creation cycle' and 'destruction cycle' to begin to see how they interact.

Good luck with your training, looks like you've got a good thing there.

Lucas
08-23-2007, 03:53 PM
thank you chud.

in regards to 'yi' being the intention, can you tell me what physical element or fist element this corresponds to?

also, what are the other 4 elements on the same plane as 'yi'

such as, if 'yi' corresponds with 'fire or exploding' (im not saying it does, just hypothetical, im likely wrong)

what corresponds with earth, wood, water, metal?

sorry to be so bothersome. i am having problem finding this particular aspect.