PDA

View Full Version : Dit Dar Jow/Iron Palm

missingfingers
08-23-2007, 07:21 PM
I've just bought some Dit Dar Jow off a martial arts store but the guy who sold it to me just told me to apply it to bruises or soak your entire hand in it after doing the iron palm. My concern is here that from what I've read in the past, there should be preparations such as heating it up and something about using vinegar to extend the life of it.

And if you got the time, can you enlighten me on the drills to do the iron palm? My sifu's iron palm including the medicine cost 600 bucks, I would pay him if I wasn't on such a budget, he probably doesn't have control over the pricing either so I don't want to negotiate with him.

Oh by the way, to reduce the amount of dit dar jow wasted, I soaked a paper towel and applied it to my injured area for about 20 minutes, if anyone sees anything wrong with this, please tell me. I'm new to how to work it.

Thanks.

anerlich
08-23-2007, 10:38 PM
I've intentionally stayed well clear of iron palm training, though I have had good access to it if I ever wanted it. A couple of my contemporaries did a program, but neither of them had a professional job or a relationship (i.e. a life) at the time.

The old Chinese saying is "Iron Palm drives you mad". It takes a high level of commitment to an arduous program, repetitive to the point of driving you nuts. My instructor did it before entering a tournament in HK in the 1980's but ended up breaking his hand anyway (he still won his division).

The use of vinegar, wine, etc. us to create the DDJ from its base herbs. Very simplistically, you get the herbs and boil 'em up in the liquid. You don't need to fiddle with it more after that.

I would strongly suggest you only take advice on this subject from someone with a lot of experience, not the "net of a million lies". Even so called iron palm masters bicker about how to do it properly.