PDA

View Full Version : Is WC Shaolin ?

woodendumby
09-22-2007, 12:43 PM
this may seem like a simple Q to answer....but after my own looking around, it's still not clear.

VingDragon
09-22-2007, 01:51 PM
where did you look for it?

woodendumby
09-22-2007, 02:07 PM
well...,it seems no matter where i look there is only speculation. It's hard to believe that , being only a few hundred years old that nobody knows where it originated from. If thats the case why do we even call it chinese ? perhaps a traveler introduced it. The answers I get when I look around is " perhaps a shaolin monk and budhist nun created it....perhaps its an offshoot of hung gar...or another form of kung fu.

and then I have a book called "Mastering Kung Fu Featuring Shaolin Wing Chun".... So I'm just curious as to other ppls opinions...or perhaps they can point me to a more definitive answer.

couch
09-22-2007, 03:16 PM
well...,it seems no matter where i look there is only speculation. It's hard to believe that , being only a few hundred years old that nobody knows where it originated from. If thats the case why do we even call it chinese ? perhaps a traveler introduced it. The answers I get when I look around is " perhaps a shaolin monk and budhist nun created it....perhaps its an offshoot of hung gar...or another form of kung fu.

and then I have a book called "Mastering Kung Fu Featuring Shaolin Wing Chun".... So I'm just curious as to other ppls opinions...or perhaps they can point me to a more definitive answer.

Oh, boy. I don't know if I should let Mr. Rozanski toy with you too much. ;)

First thing to do in Wing Chun is to learn all the spellings and search out their origins and who developed them, etc.

Let's start with......um.... Weng Chun. Okay?

Then Wing Chun, Ving Tsun, Yong Chun, Wing Tsun(WT), Traditional Wing Chun(TWC), etc.

Happy hunting,
Kenton Sefcik

PS, don't forget Wing Tjun!

Savi
09-22-2007, 04:08 PM
Hello Woodendumby,