PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a Wing Chun school in NYC

sonyburnett
10-18-2007, 09:45 PM
I took traditional Wing Chun a few years ago and want to get back into it. I work in manhattan and was wondering if there are any good schools that teach wing chun. I know there are some classes in the outer boroughs, but I work pretty long hours..so I was hoping to find something in manhattan. I have done a search on the internet and the only two schools I found were one that was taught by a guy named Terrence Yip or Yip Pui...as well as another guy named sifu Chow. I am not sure what brand of wing chun these sifu's teach...but I liked traditional wing chun when I studied it, and woudl like to continue in that area. If anyone knows of a teacher in Manhattan that teaches traditional wing chun, please let me know. Otherwise, I would be willing to go to another class if someone here thinks the teacher is particularly skilled. Any ideas are welcomed. Thanks.

Sony

stonecrusher69
10-19-2007, 04:15 AM
Hi sony..I know a guy who does TWC in the city. He's very good. Pm me and I'll give you his email..

southernkf
10-19-2007, 01:52 PM
Hi,

I don't know any thing about Yip Pui. I suspect Chow is sifu Chung K Chow. I don't know how good he is, but I suspect he is pretty good. His video seems like he does good stuff. His wing chun is from Leung Sheung lineage indirectly through his teacher, so you should be getting some good stuff. I understand he has been exploring with other fighting methods in relation to wing chun and calls it Integrated wing chun. I don't know how traditional his current teachings are. But it seems to me you could do much worse that to study with him. He is worth checking out and seeing if you like what he offers. I believe one of his students is a member of the list and perhaps could shed more light.

bamboo bug
10-19-2007, 03:23 PM
Fut Sao Wing Chun Kuen
20th ave & 74st Bensonhurst
Saint Dominics Tues.&Thurs
347 495-6992 James Cama Sifu