PDA

View Full Version : Learning the forms in a seminar

Hitman
10-31-2007, 01:16 PM
Dear all,
How do you reproduce a form you have just learnt after watching the instructor performed only a few times in a seminar. I can not do it at the moment, so I need your help. Which part of the body do you watch, when the instructor is demonstrating the form?
I know good dancers can reproduce 70 - 80% of a dance routine after watching it only once. How do they do it?

Thank you

hskwarrior
10-31-2007, 01:20 PM
key thing is to pay close close close attention.......don't watch just one thing, spread your vision out and soak in the whole picture.

if you focus only on hands, you miss the feet. vice versa.

its easier if you already know the basics of the system, but if you are a complete newbie, take you time.

Takuan
10-31-2007, 01:20 PM
Footwork first! :D

lkfmdc
10-31-2007, 01:25 PM
Not to tear this thread down and burn the house to the ground (no, not me! ;) not me!) LOL

but anyway, I think this is one of the problems, it isn't easy to just "copy" movement for many. I know that guys like Lama Pai Sifu, CJurakPT, Steve Ventura and I would watch CTS and learn by imitation. We got very good at it. LOL I remember when YC Wong came to NYC and taught the first Pek Gwa set to us. We picked it up in 20 minutes, he was sort of amazed saying it usually takes an all day seminar to get people to learn it, then he wanted to know if he could teach something else to make up for such a short seminar :D (YC Wong is a very good teacher)

hskwarrior
10-31-2007, 01:29 PM
some people learn very fast, some are thinkers who slow down the whole process.

but i've picked up whole forms in a day as well.

lkfmdc
10-31-2007, 01:35 PM
but we've also probably also seen someone who takes a day to learn how to execture a single technique

(trying to teach "Lin Waan Dau Fu" used to cause me to pound my head into the wall in the old days)

Mano Mano
10-31-2007, 01:36 PM