PDA

View Full Version : Quick Bruce/Yip Man question.

Scott
09-11-2000, 09:47 AM
How much did Yip Man's students practice? Like how many hours a day and how many days a week. I'm just curious about comparing the average practice time a week with an instructor with the old and new guys. I only get an average of 2 - 3 hours a week with my instructors, and probably another 3 hours solo practice a week. I am a fairly passive martial artist, though.

- Scott.

vingtsunstudent
09-11-2000, 01:59 PM
hey scott how are you today?
when my sifu was in hong kong it was not unusual for him to train for 16 hrs a day, although he was an exception to the rule, most students however, at wong shun leungs school would at least practice 4-6 hrs 5-6 days a week.
to some it probably sounds like bs but it is the absolute truth & you need only train with my instructor once to know that i am not lying.(1 of the last times my instructor visited hong kong,another sifu in the same lineage named david peterson recieved a letter from the guys in hk wanting to know if he could find out when barry was coming back as he absolutly blew them away with his depth of knowledge not to mention his unbelievable skill)
it is a bit different these days in our school with the most avid students putting in at least 14 hrs class time a week(this is because that is all the classes we have)as well as the time they spend training at home.
i personally am a bit lazier in my old age(also i have an impinged tendon in my left shoulder that slows my chi sao down quite a bit)
good luck with your own training
vts

origenx
09-12-2000, 10:10 PM
16 hrs a day? f*ck! I'm barely awake 16 hrs a day! I train 16 hrs every 2 months!

Scott
09-13-2000, 03:56 AM
Hey VingTsun.. My day was pretty good /infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif That does sound like a ton, but my dream is to some day find a school or partner like that and take about a month or two off from life and just practice Wing Chun all day. My kind of vacation.