PDA

View Full Version : The consensus on Jun Fan?

DragonzRage
09-13-2000, 03:54 AM
To all the other JKD peeps out there(Concepts, JFJKD, whatever)...what are your feelings towards Jun Fan? Through my exposure to more and more JKD people out there, I've come to notice a dominant trend of departure from the Jun Fan art. Why is that? I think that Jun Fan (when taught in the hands of a capable instructor) offers great basic skills and is also essential in realizing certain aspects of the JKD spectrum. I am by no means an expert in the realm of JKD (yet /infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif) but this is just my opinion. What are your views on this...and if you are a JKD man what is your experience in Jun Fan, if any?

~Max

Black Jack
09-14-2000, 02:02 AM
Man I am not looking forward to taking a crack at this question since there are so many out there with a deeper knowledge of its fine points but as they say here is my two cents.

I study JKDC and to me that is the way that Bruce wanted the system to go...not as a static style but as a evolving enitity that allows the student to express himself and to defend himself with the most sound concepts and tools around him at the time.

JKDC has never left Jun Fan...those founding elements are in JKDC and always will be but the system has expanded thanks to Dan Inosanto (sp) into I what I think that Bruce was trying to state in the begining.

My school is more Filipino based than a number of other schools which are more CMA based...we are only around 8-10% Wing Chun where other schools are around 20-25%...it all depends on who you are learning from and what fits you better.

Other JKD schools work a lot of drills but do not let there students spar intell later in there development...we as a PFS lineage school start sparring and drilling right off of the bat...at day number one.