PDA

View Full Version : mixing it up

punchdrunk
11-07-2007, 01:58 PM
i know most wc people dont spar or train with other stylists. i think most do not even know how to do it safely. it can be dangerous and if you are not truly used to contact, even scary. but i think it is a good way to better your skills and get a taste of reality. in my first 3- 4 yrs i regularly played with karate, tkd, judo, boxing, aikido,wrestling and even white crane people. no 2 situations were the same. it was a college campus i trained at and different people would pop by all the time.
i remember a few occasions when the partner would try to show me up by injuring me, one was an arm lock, and another was a leg kick. but most people were more honest in their intent.
i am not good at giving advice, but maybe other people here could tell us how they have trained outside their clubs? how they met the partners and what rules they followed in training together? i hope this can help wc get out there and get new experience!

k gledhill
11-09-2007, 05:27 PM