PDA

View Full Version : Qigong questions

o
03-06-2001, 01:53 AM
In a previous post in this forum, someone warned against practicing qigong without a teacher. I definitely agree to this with intermediate and advanced qigong but I'm wondering if it's okay to do beginning qigong techniques without a teacher and instead just follow a good book. (I am relatively new to qigong and am a beginner. Yes, I intend to find a teacher later.) The book I have is "Qigong Empowerment" (by Liang and Wu). It outlines practices for five main qigong types: Medical, Daoist, Buddhist (Tantric), Emitting /Absorbing/Healing, and Wushu/martial arts (i.e. iron shirt). The authors say that you won't get hurt going through the book in order and practicing without rushing and at the beginning forming a solid foundation (for later work) of medical qigong (composed of: first relaxing, then qi permeating technique, then health maintenance with organ work).

Is it okay for me to do the Medical qigong without a teacher? What about the later parts in the book? Do I need a teacher for all qigong work? Is anything safe enough to practice alone? The techniques that I plan to do (from the Medical qigong section) are the following (in order):

For relaxing:
1) "Basic relaxation technique" (Fangsong Gong)
2) "Relaxing the body and calming the mind" (Song Jing Jianshen Gong)
To harmonize the mind, body, and qi:
3) "Qi permeating technique" (Guanqifa)
And for health maintenance:
4) Qigong of the lungs... the kidneys... liver... walking and lying down qigong... heart... stomach and spleen... and triple burner