PDA

View Full Version : Martial Arts Teachers: Role Models, Mentors, Friends or Just Instructors

djcaldwell
12-30-2007, 03:52 PM
Eric's post on the other thread led me to revisit something that I wrote last month on the other forum:

There are many titles for what we call our Instructors in the martial arts community. Sensei, Sabunim and of course Sifu. Each of these has a traditional meaning associated with the role they played but in today’s world of social decline and dispersion of etiquette what does it mean to be any one of the above. For purposes of this article as I am a Chinese Martial Artist I will use the term Sifu as it is what is familiar to me.

Let’s take a trip back in time to the 80’s when I began my training. I recall walking into my school and meeting the man they told me to call Sifu. I was sitting in his office this heavyset guy and he asked me what I wanted to do, what I expected to get out of the training. Of course I went with the obvious safe answer of “I want to learn how to defend myself and lose some weight while I’m at it.” He spoke about the training and what we did there. I have to admit it was intimidating when I heard about 2 ½ hour classes 3/4 times a week and watching all the things the guys in there were doing that I thought I would never be able to do. But he helped me set some goals, change my habits and offered me some direction. He also set some “rules” for his students. No smoking. No Fighting (unless necessary) and No drinking (I was underage the older students this was not a rule for). If he found out (and he always did) that we were starting fights or basically representing ourselves poorly he would not train us.