PDA

View Full Version : allergies to dit da jow

deeperthantao
01-12-2008, 06:21 PM
I have been using jow for the last 2 months or so, and I have begun to develop something of an allergic reaction; minor nausea, cough, tightness of breath,

Anybody else experience this, are there any solutions?

lhommedieu
01-12-2008, 07:33 PM
I have been using jow for the last 2 months or so, and I have begun to develop something of an allergic reaction; minor nausea, cough, tightness of breath,

"Doctor, it hurts when I do this..."

Have you tried stopping using your jow and seeing if you don't get the same reaction? It also would be good to know what is in your jow. If you're using a jow that's made for you in a Kung Fu school then your teacher ought to be aware of what ingredients might be causing the reaction, and change it accordingly. Is it home-made or or a patent formula? Some Chinese patents have been know to contain toxins like mercury, etc. If it is a patent, then I'd consider switching to a home-made product, and then trying the use/don't use reaction test. Knowing what's in the jow is probably the most important factor.

Some other considerations:

1. You may just be sensitive to some of the herbs in a particular jow. See above.

2. Your jow may be very strong (too strong) and contain herbs that are toxic above certain concentrations. The warming jows and the ones used for iron palm training, etc. often fall into this category. See above.

3. Are you using your jow on the chest or torso? This isn't a good idea as the herbs are absorbed directily into the area above the organs.

4. The skin is related to the Lung functions insofar as the skin assists in respiration, and the Lung meridian has internal connections with Ren 12 (the Front Mu point of the Stomach). Your symptons make sense in this context. Again, stop using the particular jow that you're using.

5. Your symptoms may be unrelated to the use of jow and you should see a doctor accordingly.