PDA

View Full Version : What do you think of 8 Step Preying Mantis?

Syre
10-25-2001, 04:58 PM
I started studying 8 Step Preying Mantis a couple of months ago.

The classes are mainly taught by 3 very senior students (who are not yet Sifu level), and the Sifu shows up about 1/2 the time.

Everyone's really friendly and relaxed. They seem to have lots of knowledge. They charge only by the lesson ($10), and give lessons twice a week.

But I've read some articles about "finding a good Kung Fu School", etc. and 8 Step Preying Mantis has a couple of the "warning signs":

- they have different sash levels (yellow sash, etc.)
- the head Sifu is known as the "Grand Master"

Any considered opinions about 8 Step Preying Mantis out there (and please, not people who heard a rumor or something!).

Thanks!

Water Dragon
10-25-2001, 05:06 PM
Give it a shot, if it's the real deal, you will find out. People outside your school/organization will recognize the skill.

If you are not getting the real deal, you will find out. Your stuff just won't stack up against the competition. If this is the case, right now you are "paying your dues"

If you train hard and keep an eye out for what other people are doing, you'll be OK

Most actions of men can be explained by observing a pack of dogs. Not wild dogs, just neighborhood dogs who all scurry under the fence on the same night and set off together to reclaim a glimmer of the glory their species possessed before domestication.

Syre
10-25-2001, 05:33 PM
I don't think "you will know" is such a foregone conclusion.

I don't have any friends who practice other martial arts, and I don't spar with people from here and there, so I am not likely to find out on my own in any short order.

Any other suggestions? :)

MaFuYee
10-25-2001, 06:50 PM
i find 12 step programs to be more effective.