PDA

View Full Version : sow choy training question

hulkout
01-27-2008, 05:22 AM
How do you train the sow choy on a heavy bag? Right now, I'm just learning the basic Choy Lay Fut techniques and forms in the air, but I've done Wing Chun and Western Boxing for years. In both arts, when you punch, you retract the fist back quickly. But in Choy Lay Fut, I've been taught to punch the sow choy through the target at a 45 degree downward angle all the way around to the other side of my body. I'd like to work the gwa choys and sow choys into my heavy bag combinations but it doesn't seem to work very well on the heavy bag. Any tips would be appreciated.

Lama Pai Sifu
01-27-2008, 08:34 AM
Not really a good technique to practice on heavy bags, due to potential hyperextension of the elbow. Try to get a buddy and have him hold mitts/pads, they'll work better. Best of luck.

Peace.

diego
01-27-2008, 08:42 AM
Not really a good technique to practice on heavy bags, due to potential hyperextension of the elbow. Try to get a buddy and have him hold mitts/pads, they'll work better. Best of luck.

Peace.

I read your post and thought "Hey, I always use it on the heavybag"...you right though...oddly I only hit with my knuckles when I'm warming up so I isolate the elbow joint...when I'm pumped I use the wrist and forearm and just clothesline condition it:)...I naturally realized not to hyperextend the elbow, but I don't ever recall being aware of that until now...wierd

hskwarrior
01-27-2008, 08:43 AM
Actually,

Practicing Sow Choy's On A Heavy Bag Would Be Your Best Bet In Getting Closer To The Real Thing.

At My School, We Have A Banana Bag, And I Use It To Practice Things Like Sow Gerk, Kwa Sow Chop And Such......but When It Comes To Sow Choy's The Banana Bag Is Really Your Best Bet Aside From Thai Pads. I USE THE BAG FULL SPEED, FULL POWER AND RARELY DO I GET HURT.