PDA

View Full Version : shaolin stretch kick application

hulkout
01-31-2008, 06:29 AM
At my school, we practice walking stretch kicks where our legs are held straight and our arms are held out to our side. We go through front kicks, crescent kicks, back kicks, side kicks from unicorn stance, and slapping our hand kicks. The applications were never explained to me, we just do them. I was wondering are these combative kicks or are they exercises to stretch the legs to prepare for combative kicks later on? Or is it a combination of both? I'd imagine it's not just a beginner exercise because I see even the most advanced students practicing them. I am very new to northern shaolin training and it's very different from what I've learned before. Any input would be helpful.

NJM
01-31-2008, 07:18 AM
are they exercises to stretch the legs to prepare for combative kicks later on?
Yes, and to make the muscles below the pelvis stronger. They themselves are not applicable.

You mean you have to hold your hands at your sides like "stand at attention" to the sides of the body?

That's highly unusual.

hulkout
01-31-2008, 08:14 AM
Sorry about the confusion. I meant to say that your arms are held straight out to the side in a crucifix position. What would the difference be between these kicks and combative kicks? I know for example that the front kick is usually chambered and then snapped out. But with crescent kicks, they are usually done with the leg straight. Also I guess you would be in a fighting stance with your hands guarding.

MasterKiller
01-31-2008, 08:21 AM
Sorry about the confusion. I meant to say that your arms are held straight out to the side in a crucifix position. What would the difference be between these kicks and combative kicks? I know for example that the front kick is usually chambered and then snapped out. But with crescent kicks, they are usually done with the leg straight. Also I guess you would be in a fighting stance with your hands guarding.