PDA

View Full Version : Most street-effective Martial Art..

MantisKungFu
10-25-2001, 06:23 PM
I am in search of a street-effective martial art. I am a tiny person at 5'4" 120lbs, but I'm very quick and in good shape. I want to have self confidence and be able to defend myself should I ever get in a confrontation. I want a martial art that focuses mainly on hand techniques with kicking second. Due to my local area (Burlington, VT) my choices are very limited, but here they are:

1. Villari's Self Defense. I studied here a year ago up to a yellow-belt, but I stopped due to other conflicts. I now don't know whether to go back because as I look back I don't know what I took out of it.

2. TKD. There are two schools near me, but I've heard TKD is very kick heavy and I feel at only 5'4" I should concentrate on hand techniques more. Plus I feel kicks are unpractical on the street.

3. Kung Fu. There is a local Kung Fu Academy that teaches a variation of Wah Lum Praying Mantis (the sifu did study it) and Northern Shaolin Kung Fu. Does this sound fishy at all? Would these styles be what I'm looking for?

Now I know that teacher matters a lot, but as a beginner I can't really distinguish good from bad. So, with all this in mind, what are your thoughts on what I should do? Any suggestions/comments/recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

"It is better to be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt"

Crimson Phoenix
10-25-2001, 06:35 PM
Hmmmmm...obviously you'll find lots of Chinese Martial Arts fans here...hehehehe I guess they'll all advise you to go for the Wha Lum school...At least that's what I would advise you ;)

fmann
10-25-2001, 06:38 PM
Go to the schools and see what they do. If it's too "traditional" with a lot of focus on forms and less on building confidence in a confrontation, then don't continue.