PDA

View Full Version : Shaolin Culture Center

JMJ
02-02-2008, 11:51 AM
Hi All,

I'm new to this board and wondering if anyone has heard of the Shaolin Culture Center in San Mateo? They also go by "Chinese Martial Arts and Entertainment Institute (C.M.A.E.I)". Head of school, Grandmaster Yung-Chi Chung has a really great resume and is a wonderful teacher. I am currently a student of his and searched this forum but could not find any info. Their website is http://www.shaolinkungfu.com

PS. I'm not trying to market the school! Just looking for info/opinions.

Thanks

LFJ
02-02-2008, 03:34 PM
i dont know who he is, but i checked the site. my first impression? looking at the instructor page there's a huge picture of him doing pubu with his heel up! either showing lack of ankle flexibility or knowledge of basic stances. or perhaps i'm too judgemental and he did it for fun?

i didnt really think the website made him look good. especially how it talks him up so much saying he's much better than most martial art senseis and the average karate, taekwondo, or judo sensei definitely doesnt have credentials like his. and he'd have a phd if shaolin temple gave them. sounds kind of childish.

but interestingly it says he's the 31st generation of shaolin temple. but doesnt say what- monk? disciple? what? and who is his master in shaolin?

there is an old picture of him with master shi deyang presenting him with an award for his skills and teaching. but hard to say what that shows.

but maybe he is really good. you'd be able to judge that better than me. but the presentation of him on the website is kinda silly.

JMJ
02-02-2008, 03:59 PM
LFJ,

I agree on the site. He speaks little English and is very traditional so I wonder if he even knows how he is presented on the site. I know that he personally would NEVER put down any other styles. He does instruct us to be flat footed (heel down pubu etc...) so can't really say much about the pic.

LFJ
02-03-2008, 12:03 AM