PDA

View Full Version : Coiled Dragon's Kick...

Long-Wang
03-11-2008, 12:45 AM
Hi All,

Im new to the forums and this is my first thread.
Ive been learning martial arts for about 7 years but where I live there's
almost know where to learn traditional kung fu. Ive recently found somewhere that teaches Tiger and Crane styles but thats all so Ive decided that until I can find a teacher, ill research myself.

Anyway, in reading a book on 5 Animal Hung Kuen, theres a technique in the dragon section called 'the coiled dragon's kick' but the pictures describing it dont show the kick itself.
Could someone please give me a more in depth description of the kick and how it is executed???

Thank you!!!:D

spaced
03-19-2008, 07:02 AM
There are loads of examples of Dragn Kicks on Youtube, but none on a coiled dragon kick.

I assume by coiled they mean, what us Kungfu students know as, realing of the silk. You start in a lower rooted position and your body coils up and then perfomring the kick, thus achieving a faster and more effective spin?

Funny you mention Crane and Tiger - I study White Crane and Tiger Kungfu.

I'd be happy to answer any questions

Golden Arms
03-19-2008, 11:20 AM
5 Animal Hung is different stuff (especially if you are referring to the leung ting related books), often referred to as village or pre wong fei hung, hung gar. You are not going to have much luck learning it from a book in the first place, find a hung teacher and practice for several years, and what is in there will likely make a lot more sense. That kick is not a spinning kick from what I recall, but I don't practice that lineage so I don't think I should get into exactly how it IS done. Perhaps others care to comment?

Long-Wang
03-20-2008, 04:10 AM
Thank you both for your help.

Yeah I'd looked on youtube first and found nothing.
Yes Golden arms, it is the Leung Ting book, and even though it has the applications written in the back, Its hard to understend fully.