PDA

View Full Version : Houston Kung Fu

laser9
03-21-2008, 11:01 AM
Hi everyone,

I just moved to Houston from Canada recently and I'd like to find a kung fu school. I am a beginner, but I want to stay away from too much form work. I'm sure this is totally cliche, but I would like to learn what Bruce Lee taught in its truest form, i.e; less 'systems' and 'mechanics' and more 'styless style.' I'm really not trying to sound like an expert here....but can anyone help me find this kind of school...?

Thanks
Laser9

RGVWingChun
03-21-2008, 02:16 PM
I don't think you can find that in wing chun. On a personaly note, I don't think Bruce understood wing chun theory. You don't fight with the forms. They are just movement references that teach your body how to move so that when you do fight, proper positions, angles, energies, etc....all come effortlessly. That is what chi sao also help to develop

laser9
03-21-2008, 03:16 PM
Alright..sorry about that...would there be a more appropriate forum to ask this question?

Sihing73
03-21-2008, 03:33 PM
Hello Laser9,

Before you discount forms training entirely you may want to consider that Bruce had a strong foundation already built when he advocated training "outside" of the box.

The forms are not for fighting and neither is Chi Sau. However, they do provide the keys to the system and allow one to grasp and understand the concepts one will use in fighting. If one learns to open their mind and think outside of the box then the forms can provide keys to mastering fighting and combat. It is not about being able to do technique A or B but in understanding what it is that makes Technique A or B effective and how they deal with and apply energy. With this understanding one is able to adapt and change based on the situation.

Think of forms as the Alphabet of the system. It is far easier to learn to write if one has the basics down first.

laser9
03-21-2008, 04:41 PM