PDA

View Full Version : 1 question 1 answer

El Zorro 71
03-26-2008, 12:34 PM
Imagine you are with you newley promoted instructor and he told you the following

" Now that I am an instructor and I have your blessing, I will be opening a school in about 1 month."

What would be the single most important piece of advise you would give him to help him accomplish his goals.....

With all of the active instructor on the forum, this should lead to some different ideas.....give it some serious thought....

take care and keep training...

UKBBC
03-26-2008, 12:44 PM
don't give up your day job :D

RGVWingChun
03-26-2008, 04:51 PM
hahaha nice!!! Actually, you don't know his day job. GIVE IT UP YO!!!

Moses

Liddel
03-26-2008, 05:31 PM
Depends on your POV or system ranking.....

I come from a private school/group. it took years to become decent at fighting with my VT. Then i was made my sifu's "assistant instructor" he gave me a cert and all.

But this is really the beggining of being able to teach. At this point im now learning to teach. I teach all new students correct older ones under me (im the oldest student anyway) and any questions i have or cant answer off the top of my head i ask Sifu.....

So hypothetically if i JUST made a guy an instructor, under our hierarchy he would be in the stage of learning how to teach.
So starting his own school wouldnt be a good idea IMO.

This is how we create a consistency in our lineage. People learn the system and then if they want to pass it on they then learn/focus on how to teach it.

Obviously youd have an idea cause you could remember how you were taught, but everyones different and has different needs and fits with VT different so learning to teach is an important step IMO.

This is how it was for my Sifu. He learnt VT from Sifu Lok then became his assistant where he learnt the different methods for teching through trial and error under his teacher.

Thats my take
DREW

LoneTiger108
03-26-2008, 06:37 PM