PDA

View Full Version : Brendan Lai appreciation thread

diego
04-04-2008, 04:35 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1M7M7rLxcYg

I heard about him in the Gung Fu media and only now got the chance to see him live:cool:

Very good instructor!. Post your fave clips, stories.

R.I.P.

sanjuro_ronin
04-04-2008, 04:48 AM
Always loved his speed and precision, never seen him spar, but did see him actually hit a bag and pads once, hit them just as fast and hard as if he was doing it in the air, something that most "fast hands" guys can't come close to doing.

SoCo KungFu
04-04-2008, 07:20 AM
I have no personal experience with him other than talking to him on the phone to order weapons. But he has long been, through the various footage, my "mantis idol" if you will.

And even still he has influenced my kung fu. My sifu trained some 7* under him (I have no idea when and where as it was before I came into the system) and added it to his repertoire (sp?) of mantis...san bao pai's mantis curriculum is mostly tantui variety and supposedly some TJPM though I never seen it. But that's a tangent.

Anyways so I took leave and came to visit home for a month when I was still in Japan. Of course...I spent at least half the time in the kwoon. Since I had been working the same material for about 2 years, sifu decided to throw me a bone and teach me something new. And he asked me the question that any kung fu student loves to hear, "So...what do you want to learn?"

And as I had loved to watch Brendan Lai, of course I said 7*. I didn't really know at the time what was in our system from that as 7* is not part of the standard curriculum, but I figured what the heck. And sure enough...there was some things. So he taught me some techniques and my first 7* form. The techniques where nice. At the time I didn't realise it but now its apparent. While the approach might be a little different, they helped form up a basic frame for some of the leg bridging that now I'm encountering in Hung Gar.