PDA

View Full Version : Just wanted to say hi!

Melonbob
04-14-2008, 06:06 AM
Hello from Ontario! My name is Bob, and I'm just getting started in Wing Chun. I had a trial class last Thursday, and joined up. I'll be officially starting this week. I'll tell you, the first class near killed me, but in a good way. Part of the reason why I'm doing this is to get back into shape after a 10 year layoff from exercise. I have no doubt this will do the trick!

I'm a little confused about sash advancement though. I realize there sometimes isn't even colours in Kung fu. My school has them, but advancement looks to be very slow. I'm not really concerned about that at all, and I'm not really worried about the quality of the school, as it came highly recommended to me by a friend who teaches at a different local school. just wondering if its normal. Also looking for any tips you guys might have to help me along the way, certain clothing or equipment that might be overlooked.

Also, if anyone wants to check out the site, and give me and opinion, that would be great! just keep in mind the site is less than 2 weeks old, so it is under construction right now. the school has been running locally for 10 years now.

Samurai Jack
04-14-2008, 06:34 AM
Welcome, Bob.

Yes, many schools have a pretty slow progression when it comes to doling out rank. If you are like most people, you'll probably find that by the time you get to whatever your school considers an "advanced" rank, you probably won't care much about it.

Toby
04-14-2008, 07:03 AM
What Samurai Jack said. It's been about 2 years since I had a sash grading. Actually, I don't even wear one any more. I'd prefer if it stayed that way. You'll quickly get sick of people (e.g. family, friends) who know you train MA who constantly ask "What belt are you?" and "Oooh, you're only magenta with green stripes belt, my Jonny has olive with red tips belt". Also, best not to admit to training wing chun ;).

Melonbob
04-14-2008, 07:21 AM