PDA

View Full Version : Tiger Claw Face Shields

GeneChing
04-17-2008, 10:16 AM
The New York Times just did a gear test on Face Shields. Guess who won?
NYT Gear Test, Face Shields (http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2008/04/16/style/20080417physical_index.html)

Tiger Claw Clear Face Shield (http://www.martialartsmart.net/10-360.html)

xcakid
04-17-2008, 11:22 AM
Face shields!!! We don neeeed no steeeenking face shield. I am el guapo!!! :D

Seriously though. When I started training back in the 80's, we sparred with just gloves on. If you had a cup that was a bonus. Not even mentioning the beating my hands took in my stint learning Arnis. Further wussification of America. :mad: Freaking suck it up its a contact sport.

Oh good show on the product test though Gene. :) But I'll never one. Will recommend it though.

sanjuro_ronin
04-17-2008, 11:26 AM
Face shields!!! We don neeeed no steeeenking face shield. I am el guapo!!! :D

Seriously though. When I started training back in the 80's, we sparred with just gloves on. If you had a cup that was a bonus. Not even mentioning the beating my hands took in my stint learning Arnis. Further wussification of America. :mad: Freaking suck it up its a contact sport.

Oh good show on the product test though Gene. :) But I'll never one. Will recommend it though.

Here here !!
Your face was protected cause YOU PROTECTED YOUR FACE !!
:D

David Jamieson
04-17-2008, 12:40 PM
I prefer a chin and cheek myself...and even that i find a little restrictive, but its good when your getting tired and you are taking more than you are destroying. lol

the foam helmets kind of defeat the purpose of having a hard plastic shield on there though don't they? Do these have rigid structure that won't collapse in on you when someone drive a hard cross into your schnoz?

SteveLau
04-24-2008, 12:43 AM
I bought a full protection head guard last year. For the time being, a foam helmet with a face shield like the ones referred by GeneChing are the best type.