PDA

View Full Version : Western tools for Gongfu?

dimethylsea
05-23-2008, 06:05 AM
I was recently (in the last year) able to have a studio of my own after
years of training. None of my teachers ever had their own permanent
exclusive space (they taught in the park, or rented time slots in a dance
studio or church, or borrowed school space from more fortunate
martial artists) so I feel very fortunate.

Because my space is adjacent to an MMA school there were things lying
around that I "appropriated" (with permission of course). One was a speedbag
frame. Being a greedy gongfu student I hate to waste a potential training
tool so I taught myself how to use it after fixing it up and getting a bag
for it.

This is some footage of me working this western tool.... I'm trying to get a bit
of the bagua "dragon body" flavor in the movements while working with
the short knife (not a western sport use of the speedbag at all).

Does anyone have any critique of this effort or some stories of how they've
used goods at hand to make unusual or unorthodox training gear for gongfu?

http://nz.youtube.com/watch?v=gj7WcUtxOLo

sanjuro_ronin
05-23-2008, 06:13 AM
I am not a fan of speed bag work, never have been and I was actually pretty good at it.

I would suggest you take advantage of the frame and get a small weighted ball, I think ringside or a boxing place may have it and use the frame to hang it from there and train your head and body evasion moves or use it as a small target for strikes and such.

Lose the speed bag.

My 2 cents.

dimethylsea
05-23-2008, 06:34 AM
Do you mean a slip bag like this?
http://store.titleboxing.com/slipball.html

If so... then yeah, It's a great tool. That and the slip rope also.

Though I'm sure a boxing coach would be horrified with what I'm doing with
mine.

I don't think I'll lose the speedbag though, it's not like it costs me anything
to leave up and my students like it. It doesn't really take up much floor space
since it's up on the wall.