PDA

View Full Version : Question for experienced practitioners!

sidai-s
06-09-2008, 06:02 AM
Hi i am new to this thread and want to pay respect to all wingchunners here! I have been practiscing wing chun for over a year and really enjoying it and learning fast! Have been meaning to post a thread or rather a question, so here goes:

I have read many arguments on the internet on various sites on the subject of Wing chun in MMA! I am personally not a huge fan of MMA and prefer the traditional chinese kungfu internal/external hard soft approach as i feel it results in a much healthier, calmer well- rounded practitioner! Often the defence by wing chun normally states that wing chun is NOT 4 THE RING as the deadly aspects of the system would not be allowed- FAIR PLAY!!!

My question is this - Can other wing chun cocepts be used in a ring fight with the rules in place Eg. Wing Chun kicks (to knee), Bui sau blocks, Got MA, Chain puches palm strikes, elbows?? Using the opponents force against them????

And also do you think the WC stepping method if trained well can be used effectively against some1 who moves on their toes and dances about??

If wing chun truly is effective Against other arts eg BOxing Jujistu muay thai etc why arent there any WC fighters representing the style in a proffesional tournament???

couch
06-09-2008, 06:15 AM
Hi i am new to this thread and want to pay respect to all wingchunners here! I have been practiscing wing chun for over a year and really enjoying it and learning fast! Have been meaning to post a thread or rather a question, so here goes: