PDA

View Full Version : bouncer work

htowndragon
09-01-2008, 06:44 PM
so i currently work as a bouncer, just wondering what techniques you guys would prefer to use in this sort of venue from your various styles? also any tips from you elders who have worked in the security service would help as well

JGTevo
09-01-2008, 06:56 PM
It'd depend on what kind of place you work for. Normal clubs and bars where young guys get into fights usually are best solved with a grappling hold. It's not cool to break someone's wrist or arm, or smash their face just because they got a little too drunk, or got into a fight with another club patron. High-crime areas with gang members and other high-risk elements however, usually call for no-holds barred as you sometimes need to go up against three or four people who may or may not have weapons.

Lee Chiang Po
09-01-2008, 07:42 PM
For my entire working life I have been primarily a printer. But, from around 20 until I was around 45 I would do a second job of bouncing, or social director. I have held jobs as body guard, or companion. Most employers will tell you straight up that they do not want you beating on their patrons. Word gets out and you lose business. So, I would always entervene and offer both parties a free beer and do my best to defuse the aggression. This did not always work, and at times I would have to go straight in and use some sort of force to keep someone from being injured seriously. I would use a grappling hold that would be painful and very effective and remove the person and have a nice discussion with them. I would try reasoning and offer to buy them a free beer. The idea was to not humiliate them in front of peers or most especially wife or girlfriend.