PDA

View Full Version : choy mok=defense is offense

sanchez613
09-22-2008, 01:12 PM
anyone know anything about Siu Lum Choy Mok Kuen?
I have been studying this style for many years but, due to a significant language gap with my teacher, I have not been able to verify much about the history, evolution, particularities and background of my style.

What I do know already: Choy Mok is NOT a combination of Choy Gar and Mok Gar/there is a Sifu Lau Biu somewhere in China who published a book on Choy Mok (which I've read--and found interesting).

I would really be interested to know if there are Choy Mok practitioners in the U.S. and I wold love to correspond with someone who has studied the style or knows something about its history.
Anyone?

CLFNole
09-22-2008, 05:50 PM
The only info I have ever read on Choy Mok is that it is a relatively new style like 75 years old or so and is a combination of Choy Gar and Mok Gar. The emphasis of the style is short distance strikes and close-in fighting. More fists than kicks and phoenix-eye fist (fung ahn choy) is a favorite technique.

My sifu mentioned there were a few practioners of this style he knew of in Hong Kong.

Eddie
09-22-2008, 10:31 PM
sanchez,
I think I spoke to you on Facebook.
I actually found a magazine i had from HK (new martial) that has a short into on Choy mok, I cant sacen it cause i dont have a scanner, but perhaps CLFNole might be able to help. Its the one with Li Sifu on the cover (and Gwa sow and handsome joe inside)

CLFNole
09-23-2008, 07:25 AM
Eddie:

I think I have that mag I'll have to check my stash.

How are things going so far in China?

Eddie
09-23-2008, 07:33 AM
Hi CLFNole,
china is good. Im happy, but my wife isnt really.
South Africa fired their president yesterday, so i guess thereare more things in store fo them.