PDA

View Full Version : "what makes a sifu certified?"

listen_grasshopper
11-09-2000, 09:51 AM
I am a martial artist, my skill and school are irrelevant to this specific dicussion, but after parsing through the many forums I have noticed the frequent occurance of the question " is this person a legitimate sifu", and how one really knows... I've thought to myself...In all the knowledge of our si-gungs and there si-gungs. I'm sure that the issue of proving; one your skill, and two your legitimacy in a school was not a foreign concept to them. I know for a fact (personal experience and otherwise) that the majority of "arts" out there have some form of "certification" which is generally strict and one is only allowed to take it at the descretion of his or hers, instructor.
SO I pose this question if you do not have proof of some type (besides a picture with your "sifu") that you a a certified "instructor" how does one know wheather or not their sifu is an legitamate instructor of the art form or nothing more than a fake? (PROVE IT ...if you can)

Ericsepishii
11-09-2000, 05:06 PM
To me, besides the photo - which isn't always
proof per say; the main thing is to have some
sort of written document which has been signed by your sifu acknowledging that you have been certified or authorized to either:

A) Grant you status to be a Sifu or

B) Authorize you teach the specific MA that
you have been studying under him/her.

In some cases, the Sifu will keep a documented
list (in one case publicly acknowledged) of who
is currently authorized (re: certified).

Anyway, just my 2 cents worth.

Stumblefist
11-11-2000, 11:23 AM
It takes 2 medical doctors to certify a sifu. The doctors must be psychiatrists and the sifu must be a human being (so that exempts the dog sifu from South Shaolin claimed by the Shaolin-Do).
In my humble opinion, anyone who looks for or believes the credentials of anyone in this forum needs to be certified.

8stepsifu
11-14-2000, 06:32 AM