PDA

View Full Version : Bruises

golgo
12-10-2008, 08:44 AM
So, I have been training in WC for a few months now and I am getting a little banged-up on my forearms. I am not complaining about the pain - they don't really hurt that bad (not enough to actually bother me). I dont think these are very deep bruises. My question is, will I always continue to bruise? Do your skin/muscles, etc. get more resistant to bruising the more you train?

TenTigers
12-10-2008, 08:55 AM
it's a catch-22. You will get more resistant to bruising, but as you and your Hing/Dai's skill increases, you will also be playing harder and harder, thus more bruising. Ask your Sifu for some good Dit Da Jow, and ask him to instruct you in the proper way to "rub out a bruise."
"Pain is weakness leaving the body"

golgo
12-10-2008, 09:43 AM
Thanks for the info.

couch
12-10-2008, 12:26 PM
From my Chinese medicine/acupuncture perspective, I have a question:
Do you bruise easily?

stonecrusher69
12-10-2008, 02:06 PM
Just be careful not to cause any internal injuries which sometimes it hard to recover from.

golgo
12-10-2008, 02:25 PM
From my Chinese medicine/acupuncture perspective, I have a question:
Do you bruise easily?

As far as I know, I do not bruise easily. Dont really have much to compare to though. I guess I will find out over time.

Museumtech
12-11-2008, 01:50 AM
As far as I know, I do not bruise easily. Dont really have much to compare to though. I guess I will find out over time.

The advice on the Jow is good. I found that I bruised easily as well early on. Bong Sao Larp Sao drill in particular comes to mind. I am sure, however, that, along with conditioning, an unconscious improvement in my and my partners techniques also reduced my bruising. i.e. a rolling/lifting pushing Bong rather than a clashing one.

Peter

bennyvt
12-11-2008, 02:41 AM