PDA

View Full Version : St. Louis

aesop
12-31-2008, 12:21 PM
Hi everyone,

First of all, I feel I should apologize. About a year ago, I popped into the forums to ask about schools in NYC....and promptly disappeared. As they say, "life got in the way", but, yeesh, how rude. I didn't end up staying in New York for very long; I'm sure I would have uncovered some pretty great teachers. So thanks to all who responded- better late than never, right?! This time, I promise I'll stick around :rolleyes: !

I've come out of my lurking with a similar question. I may be moving to St. Louis in the near future and neither my teacher nor I know anything about the kung fu "scene" out there. I'm a Wah Lum student with four years (in the style) under my belt. I really love it and feel like practice is just starting to open up for me. I have been lucky enough to get intelligent, well-rounded, "traditional" instruction. I could easily go on forever about my training so far (!), but I'll cut to the chase. Does anyone know about schools in St. Louis? I know that there are no Temple-certified Wah Lum instructors out there, but, well, I don't think that necessarily means there's no one practicing this style. Regardless, I'm more than willing to travel pretty extensively, and am open to other options. I've poked around online, sent some emails, but it's great to have advice that's backed by some experience.

So any folks from Missouri out there?

Best,
Aesop

Oso
12-31-2008, 05:17 PM
if you are looking for wah lum and aren't particular about them being temple certified you might PM: yu shan, yao sing or mantid1 and see if they can help you out.

but, as always, you should find the best instructor in the area and not necessarily be focused on a particular style...but, it depends on your goals.

yu shan
01-01-2009, 12:21 PM
Here is who I would train with in that area:

Shifu Ron Davenport
(Citong Shifu is his user name on kfo)
www.citongshaolinkungfu.com
(618) 447-3622 or (618) 462-0604