PDA

View Full Version : Chinese Footwork Drills

huolung
01-08-2009, 05:11 AM
Inspired by another thread inquiring as to the application of a technique displayed in a form as well as the various posts regarding the effectiveness of kung fu, I decided to post this thread in hopes of allowing all of us the opportunity to share as well as learn from each other information on the various footwork techniques/drills of traditional Chinese Martial Arts. Western boxers are known for their agility as well as speed and power. In short they are generally pretty effective fighters. That being said, it is my observation that the best boxers spend a lot of time on footwork drills. What are your thoughts on this? Do you perhaps have a favorite drill? Have you made one up of your own? Or do you simply want to discuss application. As I am a novice OBSESSED over perfecting basics I would be honored have this discussion with anyone willing...

Namaste

RD'S Alias - 1A
01-08-2009, 09:10 AM
I have been doing a lot of Kuntao/Silat footwork drills. Kuntao is Old school Chinese arts preserved in Indonesia. I am not sure how much of what I am doing is from the Kuntao, or the Silat though. The system I am doing is blended.

We do a lot of entry, and positional training as well. We have a large grid on the floor with all the lines to show you the angles, and direction of movement to help you learn the positional skills.

I have found many time that when a technique is not working, it is because my foot work is off the line by an inch.

EarthDragon
01-08-2009, 10:57 AM
Great topic, As teacher of 8 step praying mantis footwork is a high priority as you can tell by our name our entire system is designed around footwork.
We have probably the most intricit footwork I have seen.

Often times i move to my students sublty with a quick slip or slide at a angle and they wonder how I got the advantage so quickly.

Bagua footwork is in my opinon the most advanced way to move around your opponent.