PDA

View Full Version : Water Breaks in Class

Tainan Mantis
01-14-2009, 06:00 AM
Do you get (or give, if you are a teacher) water breaks during class time?
When I studied in Taiwan the class was very long 2-3 hours and we would usually break for some tea.

Here in the states classes usually don't pass one and a half hours and I have seen some classes here that are only 45 minutes long, even half an hour for kids class.

So I wonder what is your experience with the water break.

THE DRINKS
I usually brew some type of tea for the students to drink during our class. Such as green tea, herb tea or yerba mate.

AFTER CLASS
Most people like to drink some corn based sweet drink like Gatorade after workout, but I always recommend coconut water (not coconut milk) after class.

And then there is always water.

SimonM
01-14-2009, 06:39 AM
I had cocoanut water once (I was expecting cocoanut milk and was sorely surprised). It was salty and gross.

Oso
01-14-2009, 07:10 AM
a lot depends on how hydrated the people stay on a regular basis.

dehydration and physical training don't mix so it's probably a good idea to not guess if a student has consumed enough water during the day.

I wouldn't give a kid's 30 minute class a break i don't think...possibly one right after the warmup but that's it...

in an hour long class (kids or adults) I usually give 2 water breaks...but just long enough for them to get 4-6 ounces of water at each break...that's usually enough for a moderately strenuous class. During our 2 hour san shou class I let them drink as they wish between rounds or sets of exercises.

and all the above instances I advocate water only...but, anyone over 18 is an adult and can make their own choices.

Gatorade is drank incorrectly and at inappropriate times by most people. Most people aren't training hard enough or long enough to warrant it. And, even then, watering it down 50% is a good idea.

golgo
01-14-2009, 07:11 AM