PDA

View Full Version : A Dr. of TCM please assist...

Zi Zheng
02-17-2009, 07:31 PM
My wife, 10.5 month old son and myself are in N.Y. and are currently sick. We are supposed to have already left for China, but can't until we feel better. I'm feeling better because Qi Gong cures almost everything, except the raspiness of the cough I got, but my wife is still really achy with a cough and my son is now coughing. He is who I am really worried about. I'm new to this parenting thing and I don't want to be a hypochondriac. He coughs for roughly 5-6 seconds when it is worst and he has had a continuous runny nose throughout the day. For 2 days now. Is there any herbal remedy I can give him to clear out this cough and end the runny nose? I was also wondering if the runny nose was just because it is cold as well and that plays a role too.

Any help would be appreciated...

Chances are my Dad and Uncle who I'm visiting will want him to be taken to a Western Dr. I would prefer to go herbal first and then antibiotics if there is no resolve.

GLW
02-18-2009, 09:29 AM
When you are dealing with adults and the flu, and the adult is not in a high risk group like the elderly, compromised immune system, etc... You can do the natural TCM thing.

In dealing with high risk groups, it may not be wise.

With infants, there are unique risks. For example, FEVER is a big one and the infection going into something worse like inflamation of the brain area...strep throat (and it can go brainward)

A small child - say under the age of 5 or 6 can have a fever spike up in virtually no time. This can lead to fever seizures - which typically have no long term effects... but they CAN be the start of very bad things.

My 20 month old daughter was with the flu...like this. She was running a slight 100 to 101 deg. F fever (that is slight for kids). She was playing around..and then just sort of laid down.