PDA

View Full Version : Are Isometrics a Part of Your Strength Training Exercises?

rimam1
05-21-2009, 09:57 AM
I studied Shaolin Kung Fu in high school and most recently Wing Chun and have always heard that lifting weights is a bad idea for marital arts.

I've always done isometric exercises for strength training and purposely avoided weights. I found this video combining isometric strength training exercises (http://www.isometricexercisesite.com/isometric-exercises/how-to-turn-regular-exercises-into-isometric-exercises) with "regular" exercises and thought he put an interesting twist to traditional strength training exercises combined with isometric exercises.

Does anyone here do isometrics? Do you find them worthwhile for building strength?

PlumDragon
05-21-2009, 10:47 AM
Funny; this same discussion is taking place elsewhere right now...

Simply put, supplementing your martial arts training with the proper strength training regimen is definitely *good* for your overall development as a martial artist.

Isometric exercises are something I would not recommend as part of your routine though; they tend to be good for testing output, but only work the body at the specific angles that the tension is being created at--not good for strength through your ROM, which is important in all the sports I can think of. Coincidentally, isometric exercises can also raise blood pressure so are definetily not good if you have blood pressure problems.

GreenCloudCLF
05-21-2009, 11:01 AM
I studied Shaolin Kung Fu in high school and most recently Wing Chun and have always heard that lifting weights is a bad idea for marital arts.

My wife loves that I left weights. She loves my guns!:D

sanjuro_ronin
05-21-2009, 11:50 AM