PDA

View Full Version : Effectiveness of Praying Mantis Kung Fu...

MantisKungFu
10-24-2001, 09:05 PM
Hello all. I am a beginner looking to get into kung fu, particularly Praying Mantis Kung Fu. There is a local Kung Fu Academy that claims the system they teach "is composed of changes made in Wah Lum Praying Mantis Kung Fu combined with Northern Shaolin Kung Fu".

My question is, would this style, or Praying Mantis Kung Fu in general, be effective to use on the street? Is there such thing as just "Praying Mantis" Kung Fu? Or is it all variations, such as Wah Lum?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm just a newbie looking for knowledge. Thanks for your time,

"It is better to be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt"

Robinf
10-24-2001, 09:16 PM
It really depends on the teacher as to how effective the style is. Mantis kung fu, Wah Lum, has a lot of forms, but it also has a good amount of two person sets that should be practiced--these teach practical applications of techniques in the forms. Then, the instructor should also have free sparring--this gives students the opportunity to use what they're learning in their forms in a controlled environment. While nothing can simulate a real circumstance, free sparring is a good tool. Be certain your instructor has the class spar.

I don't know if there is a "Praying Mantis" style still around without the variations. The origingal style came about hundreds of years ago (can't remember the exact date).

The conditioning in Wah Lum Praying Mantis is some of the best. It makes use of low stances to strenghten the legs (and high kicks at some points for flexibility--good overall health is highly important). There are other conditioning methods that vary slightly from teacher to teacher, but all within the Wah Lum curriculum.

Try it out, see if you like the style--even though it's nearby, it still might not suit you.

Robin

Surrender yourself to nature and be all that you are.

danny from miami