PDA

View Full Version : Conditioning

WinterWind
07-20-2009, 11:00 AM
Greetings all -

I've been training in several styles for almost 10 years, and as I find the magazing (KFM) to be exceptionally helpful, I thought I would pose this question here in the forums.

Outside of traditional stance training and basic body weight stuff (pushups, squats, pullups), what are some conditioning drills or exercises you've used with success? It can be anything that's helped - from stuff that is stand still to more active stuff like running drills. Basically anything that could help with conditioning and stamina.

Thanks in advance.

Jason

David Jamieson
07-20-2009, 12:17 PM
- lift weight - do compound lifting where you use more than one muscle group.

- do plyometrics (jump training)

-do ballistic stretching and use heat to limber up instead of low slow pulling stretches which tire the muscle out before you get to fully use it!

-swim! (one of the best overall body exercises we have)

-go running (use a tready or dirt trails, do not run on concrete if you can avoid it, it will crap out your joints, if not now, eventually)

-spar and roll (these two things will condition you and give you stamina in a very task specific way)

-rest! (when you work, work hard and when you rest, rest well)

-bag work, pad work, drill work (this should be a big chunk of martial art training for anyone)

- do yoga. seriuously, you will not regret adding it to your routines.

-work your core. There are myriad routines for working your core strength. Do it. It's important.

If all you're doing is stances and forms, you aren't doing enough.

good luck!

WinterWind
07-21-2009, 06:56 AM
Oh no I wasn't implying that all I did was stance training. Not at all. I meant in addition to that and activities such as a number of those you listed. As of right now, my routine lookes like this -

Day 1
Light stretch
Stance Training
Forms Training
Deep Stretch
Meditation

Day 2
Light Stretch
Targeting and Accuracy