PDA

View Full Version : NYC

gumyilo
08-06-2001, 05:58 PM
I'm currently looking for a new school and found this website

http://www.northernmantis.com

I was wondering if anyone knows anything aobut the sifu in this school, Is he legit...etc...
also if you know of any schools in the NYC area feel free to post, Thanks in advanced for the help

"There are no shortcuts in Kung Fu only long days of Hard Work."

BeiTangLang
08-06-2001, 06:51 PM
The proof is in the technique,....visit the schools. Sibak Chuy is quite authentic.
Have fun in your search.
-BTL

"It's all the same; Only the names have changed........."

eyelm
08-07-2001, 11:29 PM
I studied with Sifu Chuy for about 6 months, a few years ago. I already had 10 years 7* training behind me. There were some stylistic differences between my prior training and his, so I basically took his classes as a "new" student. I found him to be an excellent teacher, with a high concern for the safety and progress of his students, and he taught every class (this is VERY important). I found the classes to be well run, with varied and interesting training and conditioning activities. He does have senior students assisting, and they could sometimes be inconsistent but, to Sifu Chuys credit, he would interrupt and correct whenever necessary.

I found the other students to be friendly and supportive. I don't know how many students he screens out, but he did interview me, prior to accepting me as a student.

Good luck

ngokfei
08-08-2001, 06:26 AM
Sifu Chuy is a good teacher. May also want to check out Sifu Carl Albright. His mantis knowledge is quite extensive. he runs a very serious program in brooklyn.

NYC has lots of styles:

Eagle Claw
Praying manti
Hung Ga
4 Shaolin Temple Monks
Lama
Tai Chi (we got them all)
Xing Yi
Pa Qua
Southern Dragon
Bak Mei
Fu Jow Pai
Lee Ga
Mok Ga
etc.

check Bok Lei Tat in China town. They have an extensive directory.

eric Hargrove
ngokfei@juno.com

Young Mantis
08-08-2001, 06:59 AM
Gumyilo,