PDA

View Full Version : Baguazhang Fighting Stepping

dimethylsea
10-05-2009, 07:29 AM
I made this clip for a silat friend who makes instructional DVDs for that art and thought I'd share it with y'all. We both love silat's sapu and beset footwork ! Kou bu and Bai Bu stepping usually comes into those conversations when I'm talking to him about reaping, tripping, sweeping, kicking and stomping. The bagua classics say "every step is a kick, every kick is a step". Kick=reaping, tripping, sweeping, kicking and stomping!

I apologize for the background noise, we like to play music at the studio and I'm not a professional at making videos.

Hopefully it will be informative and useful to baguazhang people's practice.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q5-95vahRc4

KTS
10-06-2009, 02:59 PM
pretty nice basic tutorial on the basic fundamental moving pattern of baguazhang. not really much i would add to it as being a fundamental demonstration of it's basic uses. i liked that you variated the kou bu and bai bu slightly each time well constantly instilling the fact that you, throughout the whole vid, were only using these two basic yet most necessary fundamental steps of bagua.

maybe i would have added the step-down type of kick to the shin as a percursor movement to a foot stomp or pin. and maybe i would just throw in the basic single palm change with it, since the footwork and hand work flow together so smoothly.

overall, i think it was a nice video that introduces the basic uses of the hook step and swing step. so, nice vid. i liked it.

Bob Ashmore
10-09-2009, 10:02 AM
I've not seen very much Baguazhang outside of what I can find on youtube. I was surprised to see how similar this stepping is to what we do in TCC.
I like how simple yet effective this method is.
I forwarded this to all of my fellow TCC practicioners in my group, they all seem to like it as much as I do.
I'm going to have to learn more about Bagua now...

Thanks.

brucereiter
10-09-2009, 02:00 PM