PDA

View Full Version : Balls, Middle or Heel?

hpclub
10-29-2009, 08:31 AM
Now Ive been training for just under 4 years now and just started to get a little obsessed about when I'm doing the turning/shifting whether I'm doing it on my balls, middle or heel of the foot.

Until recently I've never taken much notice of which part of the foot I shift on but feel it has quite a bearing on your positioning and centre of gravity. For example shifting on the balls of your feet moves you off your centre line more than it would if you shifted just on the heels.

Below is an extract of something I picked up from the web which is quite interesting.

"Turning on the heels maintains the most stable position. The heels are the direct link between the body and the floor; they receive the full weight of the body, unlike other parts of the foot. This makes them the most logical pivot for the body. If one turns on the toes or the center of the foot the whole body will swing off the center axis"

"shifting on the toes or center of the foot throws the body off its primary axis, promoting a loss of balance. Also, if one turns with the toes, they support the body weight and there is nothing left to control balance. Turning with the weight on the heels leaves the toes free, allowing them to assist in maintaining balance"

Now I really donn't know if there is a linage issue or just a case of your own personal body dynamics..shorther legs and feet etc. But I wondered if others are concious of how they are shifting and if they have been trained this way?

Regards

couch
10-29-2009, 10:13 AM
Unfortunately, this is a dead issue. While you've been somewhat obsessed with this shifting thing - a lot of people have lost loved ones due to wars waged.

There are lots of arguments for AND against all shifting ideas...and I think that I (mostly) agree with all of them.