PDA

View Full Version : Shaolin Routines by Experts

Eugene
01-19-2010, 07:12 AM
Hi My name is Eugene,

I am new here and have alot of questions, the first one is :

Is it true that the following routines are shown by the monks who know them the best :

Mei Hua Quan done by Shi Guo Song
Da Hong Quan, shown by the young Shi De Yang..

Its seems to be but I am a kung fu beginner that one style can really fit someone from top to toe like Taizu Chan Quan done by Shi Heng Jun

Shaolin Pao Chui done by Shi Yong Xin,
Seven Star Fist done by Shi Yong Zhi,
Xiao Hong Quan again for me by Shi Guo Song

I have a feeling people are born for one or two styles, anatomicly, etc.

Mayeb I am all wrong, but If feel much more at home practicing Mei Hua then Xiao Hong for example.

All these monks have different body`s.

Do you share this idea, or am I way off ?

I am happy to be on here, peace out Eugene

Shaolin
01-19-2010, 10:28 AM
I do not practice styles, I play with movements. When I was a beginner I learned the templates (forms), later I learned the applications, then the underlining concepts and martial theory. After awhile the movements became second nature and the forms disappeared leaving only the movements to create and express myself with.

Write your question down in your notes and revisit it in a year, see what answers you come up with after another year of practice.

Eugene
01-19-2010, 12:00 PM
Hi Shaolin,

I will make a note ! :)

It seems a bit funny that hard work comes with learning forms and then be left alone, i cannot imagine that yet.

How do you practice, and how or what do you self express ?

I take your anwser serius, and will check myself in a year.

But I was wondering more about the * Xiao Hong Quan Choreo * ( or others )
Wich person, for me Shi Guo Song, does the combination of the movements, also each movement looked at alone, and the flow of it all maybe not the best, but seems to fitted the best in.