PDA

View Full Version : What forms are in your Shaolin regimen now?

GeneChing
01-21-2010, 12:03 PM
Here are the Shaolin forms that I am currently practicing on a regular basis (at least once a week, hopefully more). Since this is the Shaolin forum, I'm restricting my list to Shaolin forms. Currently I'm only doing Songshan Shaolin forms.

baduanjin
xiaohongquan
dahongquan
qixingquan
changhu xinyimen
taizu changquan
tongbi luohan
qixing tanglang
qiang (Taguo version)
dao (Taguo version)

I've shown you mine. Let me see yours. ;)

B-Rad
01-21-2010, 12:53 PM
I started practicing a mizong quan form I learned several years ago. I don't know how it is Shaolin related (if at all) but a Taiwanese teacher used to refer to it as Shaolin when seeing us practice. I'm not sure what it's called, but it looks very similiar to some versions of the praying mantis form "xiao hu yan".

Shaolin
01-21-2010, 01:24 PM
The curriculum I teach from white to black is:

Level 1
Wu Bu Quan - five step (Shifu Yan Ming version)
Xiao Lohan Quan - small arhat

Level 2
Xiao Hong Quan - small frame
Da Hong Quan - large frame
Chang Quan - long fist
Ba Duan Jin - 8 section brocade

Level 3
Xiao Pao Quan - small cannon
Da Pao Quan - big cannon
Wu Xing Ba Fa - 5 animal, 8 method
Yi Jin Jing - muscle/tendon changes
Qi Xing Quan - seven star

Sal Canzonieri
01-21-2010, 09:02 PM
Right now I teach and practice mostly these Shaolin sets:

Ba Dun Jin
Liu He Gong
Chan Yuan Gong and Chan Yuan Quan
Luohan 13 Gong and Luohan 13 Quan
Wubu Quan
Xiao Lian Huan Quan
Dan Shi
Jingang Bashi
Wuxing LianHuan Quan
Taizu Chang Quan 32 postures
Xiao Hong Quan (Lao and standard versions)
Xiao Hong quan Er Lu
Da Hong Quan yi Lu
Lao Hong Quan 1-4 Lu
Luohan 18 Shou 1-8 Lu
Rou Quan Yi Lu
Ru Quan Er Lu
Rou Quan 108 postures
Ru Xing Chui
Yuan Hou Quan (monkey ape)
Parts of Xin Yi Ba

Eugene
01-22-2010, 03:41 AM
I practice daily from 11:00 to 13:00 outside :

little jogging
Stretching
Baduanjin with abdominal breathing