PDA

View Full Version : Northern Mantis & Fighting

Kiasyd
11-04-2001, 04:22 PM
Hi everyone!

Watching all the argument that goes on and on at the main forum about Kung Fu / striking / grappling effectiveness, I wondered if anyone here, is a experienced Northern Praying Mantis fighter, and used it on a real situation (or almost real ;) ) against a grappler. It works fine? It must be adapted?

I'm asking this, since I'm a newbie at my training, and thought that you people probably could share some experience :)

-- Kiasyd

mantis108
11-04-2001, 08:30 PM
First and formost, I am not a fighter (at least not professional as in those NHB folks like). But to fight with Mantis (TCPM), that I do with people (most become my students).

What do people see in my way of fighting or rather my interpretation of TCPM?

They see striking (hand strikes), Kicking, Throwing, Chin Na (stand up grappling) and Ground Grappling (not extensive but sufficient enough to handle myself on the ground). Above all they see, the free flow of these combat elements in a progressive indirect attack approach, there are direct attack also, that has a rhythm and finesse. In other words, it is no brawling like the martial sports that is so "effective" in many people's eyes. People come to me for an art in combative form not how to become the Alpha Male (for that they will have to seek some other animal trainers). The problem with CMA strikers not doing so well in grappling situations aren't really about techniques. Mantis (primarily striking styles) has all the essential techs. to handle any situations, IMHO. Be it stand up game or ground game, with slight adjustment(s) the techs will work beautifully. The problem is really with the will to prevail and the awarness of the changing climate (during combat). This is where most of the training in CMA failed today (mostly happen in waterdown Mckwoons which can't even tell Kung Fu, WuShu and Karate apart).